Monday, February 2, 2015

Blog Tour: Three Brothers by: Nicole Williams (Review & Teaser)

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Three Brothers by Nicole Williams hosted by ATOMR. I am a huge fan of Nicole's books and am very excited to be taking part. 

Release Date: January 20, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon
Source: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.
"I grew up with three brothers. They weren’t tied to me by blood, but our connection went beyond genetics or bearing the same last name. Our connection was forged the summer I turned thirteen, the summer my mom ended her life and left me in the custody of John Armstrong, a man I’d never met. Packing all I owned in a couple of boxes, I left the familiarity of the big city and headed west to Red Mountain Ranch, set in a lonely valley outside of Jackson Hole.

Nothing was as it seemed at Red Mountain—it didn’t take long for me to figure that out. John was kind to me but distant, as if he was afraid to let anyone get too close. His three teenage sons had their own devices for keeping love as far away as they could. The eldest distracted himself with cheap relationships that had a shelf-life of one night. The middle son threw himself into the rigor of running a ranch, and the third wielded cruelty and mind-games in his quest to keep people from getting close.

Time has gone by, and I’ve spent those years trying to forget the brother I’d fallen for—the biggest mistake of my life.


Finally, I’ve moved on. Finally, I’m back. But what I didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant I’d also run away from the right one. The one who’d been there for me all along, waiting in his brother’s shadow for the day I either would or could move on.

But a decade is a long time to wait. Has the brother I should have chosen all of those years ago moved on too? Am I about to discover that my biggest mistake wasn’t falling in love with the wrong brother, but failing to return the love of the right one sooner?

Does unrequited love have an expiration date?

I’m about to find out.

Author’s Note: This book is a “sweet” romance that isn’t overly sexy. Fans of Lost & Found will be interested in Three Brothers."

My Thoughts:

Three Brothers is a beautiful story about one girl and how her life is forever changed by one family. It is a story of her growth and decisions regarding what she wants in life. I really enjoyed this story and it is the kind of story that made my heart all gooey. It is incredibly sweet and it really works its way into your heart.

Scout has just finished up school and is ready to start her life when tragedy calls her back to her past. It is clear that Scout needed to get away from her past and specifically leave someone behind but in the process of doing that she also left some great things about her life behind. Conn was bad for her and she needed him out of her life, but she let that bad eclipse all of the good. When she gets back she realizes she was wrong to cut out the good and starts to realize that her past could also be her future. I really liked Scout. She was a great character and I liked watching her discover herself.

Chance is the good that Scout left behind. Chance is a wonderful character. I absolutely loved him. He is so sweet and kind and puts everyone else before himself. Chance and Scout were inseparable growing up; they were best friends and were always there for one another. However, things are a bit different now. Scout is no longer clouded by her feelings for Conn and she can see that Chance may have been the right one for her all along.

I really loved the slow build of the romance in this one. Even though Chance and Scout are best friends, it takes time for their relationship to develop into more. It is a slow burn and I really loved that. I loved that neither one jumped into it and I loved watching it develop. It was such a sweet romance and I absolutely loved it. I also loved that it wasn’t just romance. It was more about Scout coming to terms with who she wanted to be. I do wish we had gotten to see some of Scout’s past at the ranch and see what events shaped her. I can only imagine how horrible Conn was at times as what we see of him now is not great. He says some truly hurtful things.

Three Brothers is a much slower moving novel than some of Nicole’s other books, but I think it was the right pace for this story. It needed to take its time and build up in just the right ways. The twist at the end nearly gave me a heart attack and then the twist on top of the twist really hurt my heart. It is a sweet read but it’s not without its heartache.

Three Brothers is a really good read and fans of Lost & Found will definitely enjoy this one as well. Nicole really knows how to deliver a story that gets under your skin and into your heart.



9 comments:

  1. I like the color of the cover and the books sound interesting .. thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds really good! I definitely appreciate it when an author chooses slow romance instead of instalove. I definitely might give this one a shot! Great review!!

    Tracy @ Cornerfolds

    ReplyDelete
  3. Gah! Your comment on my blog made me remember something I wanted to include in my review! I too, would have liked to see Scout a bit on the ranch when she was a teen. I liked that deleted scene Nicole put up and I wish she had left it in. Oh well. I did like this one, even with the slower pace. I like deeper more introspective books, with poignant relationships, so this one really worked. I'm glad you liked it too review twin! <3

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really do love slow burn romances, ones that take time to build up. Usually those can be some of the most combustible romances! I'm definitely going to have to pick this one up! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Love the cover and the sound of the slow building romance

    ReplyDelete
  6. I guess she was blinded by Conn, bc it was just SO obvious how much Chance loved her. Practically stamped on his face! And I did not care for that twist at the end, but you know, I still liked this one overall. Yes, Chance and Scout are def so cute together.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This book sounds awesome! Thank you for sharing because I totally need this book now. I'm glad the pacing was just right and there was character development! Thank you sharing this awesome review. This book is a must for me now.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I so agree. It is a slower moving story. I did love it but it's not the common formula right now.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm glad this was a great read, Teresa. It sounds like something I'd love. I've not read NWilliams yet. but I know you love her. I'll get to her...soon!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...