Monday, June 16, 2014

Book Review: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by: Lindsay Cummings

Release Date: June 10, 2014
from Greenwillow Books
Goodreads | Amazon
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review.
"An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings."

My Thoughts:

This book has such a strong premise, so it is such a shame that it fell flat for me. It started off good and I was intrigued but then it just never lived up to its potential and I found myself skimming. I never found myself fully invested in either the story or the characters.

I’ll start with the world. I never felt that it was fully set up. We are kinda just thrown into this dystopian society and forced to accept it very quickly. I felt as if it wasn’t fully fleshed out and I never got a good picture of it in my head. I understand that part of the story was discovering how this world came about, but I still think I needed more initially.

My other issue was that I didn’t really like any of the characters. They were all just too hard for me; main characters and secondary characters. Both of our main characters aren’t really great people in my opinion, so I had a hard time rooting for them. I have trouble when the heroes of the story aren’t much better than the villains. Additionally, there was an extreme case of instalove between Meadow and Zephyr. I’m not one to discount instalove, I actually enjoy it, but you have to sell it to me and make me believe it. I didn’t believe it with Zephyr and Meadow. I didn’t even believe it as the story went on. I didn’t see the spark or the connection.

While The Murder Complex didn’t really work for me, it may still work for others. I have seen others who have truly enjoyed this story and this world. The premise is intriguing and a world where the death rate is higher than the birth rate really makes it all dark and twisty. Sadly, it wasn’t all I hoped for but I’m sure it will be a hit for someone else.

10 comments:

  1. I have to agree with you - and I couldn't even finish the book. =S The characters weren't engaging/interesting... The dialog struck me as forced, too. And the insta-love seemed to come out of less than nowhere - Zephyr glimpses Meadow once and he's in love? I don't think anything could sell me on that, and like you, I'm never totally opposed to insta-love.

    Given the amount of hype that surrounded this book, I was definitely expecting something a little more... well, just more. :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah... this book had so much hype and it really does sound awesome but sadly it just doesnt live up to that =[

      Delete
  2. That's really too bad. I agree it's a strong premise. Thanks for the warning though. Pretty sure I wouldn't like the characters either. They need something for me to believe in and if they are pretty much villains - what's the point?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Man,, sorry the characters and book in general didn't work for you.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have seen a couple of other bloggers who didn't enjoy this one either. It's too bad to hear that as this book sounds really promising. I hope I'll enjoy it once I get some time to read it. Great review, Teresa :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Darn! A lot of people, including you, I know are excited for this! Sorry it failed to meet the hype

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've seen a lot of reviews that expressed thoughts similar to yours. This is a book that's been hyped for so long, and it's a shame it doesn't seem to live up to that. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've heard a bit of mixed things about this one, and I'm glad you gave it a chance though it fell a bit flat for you. I am curious about it, but still unsure if I should pick it up. I probably won't, but I so enjoyed you honest review!!

    *Muggle Huggles*

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awww that's really too bad Teresa! I've seen this one around but didn't really pay attention to it. Plus, I don't like insta-love either unless its done REALLY well. Sorry this didn't live up to your expectations. Hopefully, your next read is much better! Wonderful, honest review! :D

    ~ Maida xxx

    ReplyDelete
  9. Such a shame -- this one really had a lot of promise! I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, but I appreciate your honest and extremely well written review! *hugs*

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...