Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Book Review: Breakable (Contours of the Heart #2) by: Tammara Webber

Release Date: May 6, 2014 from Berkley
Goodreads | Amazon
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.
"He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat."

My Thoughts:

This book was one of my most anticipated reads of 2014 and I am happy to say it delivered. It met every single one of my incredibly high expectations and it gave me things I didn’t know I wanted. I also want to stress that this is not simply Easy in Lucas’ point of view, but much much more. This book is both a prequel and an alternate point of view. We get Lucas’ back story in full detail and we also get to experience the more important moments from Easy from his perspective.

Honestly, I didn’t think it was possible for me to love Lucas any more than I already did, but I was wrong. I fell hard for him all over again. Everything about him is just easy to love. He is such a wonderful guy and there is so much more to him than meets the eye. He is protective and caring and sweet and charming and hardworking and I could just go on and on for days. He is the book boyfriend all other book boyfriends should strive to be.

Getting to see Lucas’ back story was heartbreaking. If you think you know what his childhood was like, you really don’t have a clue. It hurt to read at times and there were so many people in his past I wanted to shake for treating him the way they did. It is very very easy to see how Lucas became so guarded, but you also see how he finally learned to get his life together. I don’t want to say much more on this because I really think you just need to experience it for yourself.

I also loved seeing parts of Easy from his point of view, and this is exactly how alternate perspectives should be done. Getting to see what was going through his head during the whole Landon/Lucas thing was very eye opening and if you didn’t get it before, you will now. I also loved seeing how he thought of Jacqueline and how much he came to truly adore her over time. How he struggled with how much he wanted her and his morals. You also see how afraid he was that she could break him when she was done rebounding with him. It was one of the best alternative point of views I’ve ever had the pleasure to read.

Easy is one of my very favorite books. It is one of those books I use as a benchmark for other books and Breakable was just as good as Easy, if not better. I love that I now have the complete story of Jacqueline and Lucas and I could not be happier with their story. Also, I should mention that I re-read Easy right before I picked up Breakable (as in, I finished Easy, went and picked up Breakable and began reading immediately) and I still loved the Easy moments in his point of view. So it really does feel different and it’s not simply the same story all over again. Fans of Easy, I highly encourage you to check this book out, even if you typically avoid books like this. Breakable is a heartbreaking, addictive, and truly romantic read.

Giveaway:

-giveaway courtesy of the publisher
-giveaway is open to the US only
-one winner
-must be 18 years of age to enter
-winner will be chosen at random through rafflecopter and contacted via email
-winner will have 48 hours to respond before I pick another winner
-I am not responsible for lost/damaged items

15 comments:

  1. This is a beautiful and perfect review -- I agree whole-heartedly with every line, and I had so much fun gushing over this book with you! I can hardly wait until we re-read it! You are spot-on about not thinking it was possible to love Lucas more and then falling for him all over again. I am right there with you! Excellent review, Wifey! *smoosh*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved gushing all over this book with you! I had so many feels that needed to be shared =]

      Delete
  2. Awesome review, Teresa. Like you, I absolutely adore Lucus. I loved Easy. It was the first Contemporary book I read after a very long break where I only read Paranormal. Although I have read many others since, Easy is still my favorite. I am so looking forward to Breakable.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved Breakable even more than Easy. I really think Tammara did a remarkable job with the story. So glad you loved it too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm listening to the audio of this right now! So excited :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love Lucas, but I want to be like him so much. He had time for everything and was good at everything, the most sexy determination!

    ReplyDelete
  6. So, so agree! I love Lucas more - how is that possible? This book is so much more than Easy from Lucas' POV - check and check. My review posts tomorrow.

    ReplyDelete
  7. oh so happy to hear this book delivered especially after Easy I heard was such an amazing story - which I own and need to read badly.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved Breakable, and just posted my review today. I agree, I had no idea how much he went through until reading this book. My heart broke for him, and I love him even more now! He is a book boyfriend that others should be measured by. Excellent Review Teresa!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm so glad Breakable lived up to your expectations, Teresa! It sounds like a great read. I've yet to read Easy (I know) but it's only list to read THIS YEAR! *ha* Awesome review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I want to read this series because everyone, including you Teresa, gushes about it!

      Delete
  10. I can't wait to see the book through Lucas's POV! And I can't wait to fall even more in love with this character! I know I'll be picking this one up as soon as I can! probably after I'm through with finals :D I want to know more about Lucas and, AH!, I just want to read it!!!!

    Amazing review, Teresa!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Haven't read Easy, I've filed it all under NA and I have a certain prejudice about NA. Sorry! I'll give it a shot one of these days, I can't be a good reader if I limit myself like this

    ReplyDelete
  12. I want to read Breakable because I read and loved Easy and am very excited to read more about Lucas. Lucas was so wonderful the way he nurtured his relationship with Jacqueline and helped her become a stronger and more independant woman. I am eager to read his background and his pov of all the events. Thanks for the post and the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I'm so glad you loved this one Teresa! I'm still on the fence about it, but your review definitely makes me want to jump on the train with everyone else. I do like that we get to see more than just a retelling though- that was one of my fears about this one.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...