Monday, January 13, 2014

Book Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by: Sophie Jordan

Release Date: January 28, 2014
from Harper TEEN
Add To Goodreads
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review.
"The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann."

My Thoughts:

The premise for this book is so intriguing and it really made for a great story. This is a dystopian done right. Dystopias are very hit or miss for me and this one was definitely a hit! It was very different from a lot of the ones I had previously read and that made it a really good read. It also isn’t set too far in the future, which makes the events seem even more likely. 

Davy is a heroine I think a lot of people will be able to relate to. She is a normal person thrust into a changing society. Her normal life is turned on its head when she is found to have the kill gene. Suddenly she has no friends and even her parents don’t know how to deal with her. The only person who doesn’t change is her brother, but even he is powerless to do anything about the situation. It was very interesting watching Davy change from someone who had everything she wanted to someone who the world fears and tries to control. 

Our love interest Sean is a bit of a mystery. It takes a while to get to know him, but it is clear there is more there than meets the eye. I can say that I really like him. Despite what society has labeled him as, it’s clear he is a good guy and he has good intentions. Also I love his name! It’s not a name you come across in books a lot and I just really like that. 

What I love about this book is that it makes you question things. I mean clearly this gene has been identified for a reason and honestly some of the characters you meet with this gene are clearly violent and unstable. However characters like Davy, Sean, and Gil make you question that. Sure they lash out, but don’t we all at times? Why is it not okay for them to lash out but for someone “normal” to? Just because a gene says they may hurt someone one day? I mean, who are we to judge? Also, is it really right to lock people away because of some future possible crime? Hasn’t history taught us anything? I mean, I guess this all goes back to the whole nature vs nurture debate. Do your genes decide everything or is it the way you are raised, or some combination of the two? 

What was really different about this novel is that we see the dystopian society evolve. We start off in a pretty normal society and watch how it escalates. We watch how fears and events shape the society and how that fear gives the wrong people more power. I mean, usually we just have to accept that a dystopian society is the way it is. It’s not often we get to see how it became that way. I definitely loved this aspect of the story. 

I always say the best novels are the novels that make you question things and Uninvited definitely makes you question things. The story moves along at a steady pace, and while it may seem slow at times, it really succeeds in setting up the world and letting the events play out. This is a great read and perfect for sci-fi and dystopian fans.

15 comments:

  1. Oh, I'm so excited for this one! I'm glad it was a hit rather than a miss! I like the nature vs nurture controversy and I'm excited to see how it plays a role in this book!

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review! I so agree with it making you question things! I was constantly revising my opinions on just about everything as I read. And I really liked that Davy was doing the same thing. Ooh, and you're so right that the world changes as the book goes on. I can't wait to see what happens in the sequel! :)

    Rachel @ Paper Cuts

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really need to pick this up! I love the sound of the story, and like you, dystopians are a hit or miss with me. So, if you enjoyed this one, I know I will! The sound of the main character and her situation is very intriguing! The idea just pulls me in!! I really have to get this one when I can, it looks like it'll have lots of great elements to it!!

    Great review!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. OOoh nice review!! I am really getting eager to read this. Despite being a paranormal fan, I have found myself reading the occasional dystopian or two...ones without paranormal aspects even! This definitely sounds like an intriguing read and I am going to have to remember to preorder this one soon since it releases in 2 weeks! Again, great review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I seem to enjoy dystopian so much lately so I hope I'll enjoy this one too. I love new elements and when the story takes unexpected turns. So glad you enjoyed it. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. How did I not realize this is dystopian? lol I've been seeing good reviews for Uninvited. Glad you enjoyed!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I was just beginning to read this review when KK noticed it and got a bit over-enthusiastic. She's been wanting to know about this book ever since she spotted what appeared to be a DNA double helix in the cover girl's hair (I don't understand geek speak, but she's all bouncy about it, so...). So consider this a buddy comment. LOL. I LOVE books that make us question everything, and I adore the fact that this is a dystopian done right. The nature vs nurture debate is one I've had many times with friends, and I cannot wait to see how this plays out in the book. Wonderful review, love! Is this age-appropriate for my lil geek? *smooshes your face*
    ~Michele and Katertot

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow that sounds pretty intense...the kill gene does exist in all of us. I think depending on the frontal lobe(what dictates impulses\ right and wrong) is what distinguishes murderers from normal humans with normal feelings and reactions. I'm def gonna keep an eye out for this one! Thanks for sharing!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I just read this one and absolutely loved it! I completely agree with you that this book makes you ask so many questions. And I also liked the way the world was very similar to the one we live in today and we get to see the social changes progress. It made the story all the more confronting! The next installment is going to be very interesting! Great review Teresa!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I really enjoyed Davi too and still want to know Sam's secrests

    ReplyDelete
  11. Great review! I am really intrigued by this book and definitely want to read it. I like Sophie Jordan's writing so I am excited to read this. I love an author that can write across genres.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Wow! Stunning Review Teresa! I love books that make me think and question things. I love the dystopian genre, and this sounds like it was one of the better ones. The concept kind of reminds me of the movie, Minority Report. I've always found the whole nature versus nurture debate really interesting. I'm adding this one to my TBR.

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  13. Hmmm...I struggle with dystopia but your review makes me think I will like this one.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I so agree! The best books are the ones that gets us thinking and pondering. It doesn't necessarily have to be deep or serious but if done well, even the most ordinary things and scenarios can have the biggest impact.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly... if a book can make me question something I "think" I know, then I automatically love it

      Delete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...