Saturday, December 21, 2013

Book Review: A Vampire's Christmas Carol by: Cynthia Eden

Release Date: November 11, 2013
Add To Goodreads
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
"This holiday season has bite.

Ben Prescott hates Christmas—he’s a vampire, and to him, there’s certainly nothing jolly about the holiday season. While the humans are running around being merry, he’s hunting in the shadows. Ben plans to spend the holidays his way…by stalking deadly prey.

But fate has other plans for Ben.

Three visitors are coming Ben’s way…A demon who will force Ben to face his past, a ghost who will show Ben the present he could have, and a shifter who will reveal the darkness that waits in Ben’s future. Unless Ben can change his ways, he may just turn into a real monster, one who can’t be saved by anyone or anything.

’Tis the season…to be undead.

Ben’s redemption rests in the hands of the one woman he loved and lost—Simone Laurent. If Ben is going to have a chance at being more than just the beast in the darkness, he has to prove himself to the lovely Simone. A very hard task, considering that, once upon a Christmas Eve, Simone died in Ben’s arms…
_________________

Warning: This book features one very tortured vampire, a sexy ghost from his past, and hot scenes designed to melt the winter snow. Plenty of action, adult situations, and steamy times are ahead. Happy holidays!"

My Thoughts:

Everyone knows I love vampire books. I just never get sick of them, no matter how many I read. So when I came across this on NetGalley, I knew I had to give it a shot. I mean, I love vampires and I love Christmas, so what could go wrong. I ended up really enjoying this novella and it was a super quick read.

Ben is our vampire and he is one step from darkness. In the tradition of A Christmas Carol, Ben is given a second chance. The story goes as you would expect it to. He gets visits from three people, this time a demon, an angel, and a shifter. He is shown what his life was and what it could become if he doesn’t turn it around. What makes this story different is the romance thrown in. When Ben became a vampire, he didn’t just lose his life but he also lost the only woman he loved. This started his downward spiral. But when he is given a second chance, not just at life but at a life with this woman, he is willing to turn it all around.

I really enjoyed this quick read and I had no trouble becoming invested in Ben’s story. It is a fun take on the classic Christmas tale. I would recommend this one to paranormal fans.


3 comments:

  1. A vampire Christmas story? FUN! I'm glad you enjoyed this, Teresa!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Omigosh! I'm gonna have to read this one, Teresa! I love classic retellings and if I can get a vampire involved, all the better! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds so cute!! I love the spin on A Christmas Carol -- would have never thought of one that involved vampires! I have to check this out. Awesome mini review xoxoxoxo

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...