Monday, November 5, 2012

Blog Tour: Greta and the Goblin King by: Chloe Jacobs (Review, Excerpt, and Giveaway)

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Greta and the Goblin King hosted by Itching For Books. Today I have a review, excerpt, and a giveaway! Hope you enjoy and go here and check out the other stops on the tour.


Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher as a part of the blog tour in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Release Date: November 20, 2012 from Entangled Teen
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


"While trying to save her brother from the witch three years ago, Greta was thrown into the fire herself, falling through a portal to a dangerous world where humans are the enemy, and every ogre, goblin, and ghoul has a dark side that comes out with the full moon. To survive, 17-year-old Greta has hidden her humanity and taken the job of bounty hunter—and she’s good at what she does. So good, she’s caught the attention of Mylena’s young Goblin King, the darkly enticing Isaac, who invades her dreams and undermines her determination to escape. But Greta’s not the only one looking to get out of Mylena. The full moon is mere days away, and an ancient evil being knows she’s the key to opening the portal. If Greta fails, she and the boys she finds stranded in the woods will die. If she succeeds, no world will be safe from what follows her back . . ."


Review:


The moment I saw sign-ups for the blog tour for Greta and the Goblin King; I simply knew that I had to be a part of this tour. This book sounded like something I would enjoy. It reminded me of the movie Labyrinth from the 80s with David Bowie and puppets running around everywhere. Being that I have a slight overwhelming love for that movie, I just knew I had to read this book. With all of that being said, this book caught me by surprise. I expected to enjoy Greta and the Goblin King; however I did not expect to fall head over heels in love with this book. This book really caught me off guard and I am so glad I read it.

Greta is everything I want in a heroine. In a word, she is tough. To expand on that, she is strong, confident, feisty, and she can fight. In a world filled with monsters, Greta has become one of the best bounty hunters. She did this despite being a human pitted against things much bigger and stronger than her. From the very first chapter, I knew I was going to like her. She has a no nonsense attitude and I loved it. At the same time though, Greta was not invincible. She has fears and she recognizes those fears. For example, she really has no love for the dark or for heights. She also needs saving at times. While she will take on anything that comes after her, there are things out there that she is no match for. It shows that she is not invincible and that she really is just a human girl, albeit an incredibly strong one.

Okay, now prepare for the crazy. I have a new book boyfriend and his name is Isaac. I simply fell in love with his character. He is so strong and determined and he knows just how to get under Greta’s skin. Isaac is the Goblin King (see, the title… get it?). Isaac is in a bit of a tough place. See he has a responsibility to his people, a responsibility that is at war with his feelings for Greta. I have a thing for forbidden romances, and this was no exception. I started rooting for these two from page one, even when things looked like they may never ever work out. I am still rooting for them to make it work! What I like about them is that they challenge each other. Isaac dares Greta to accept her place in Mylena and knows that she is strong. Greta pushes Isaac’s buttons and treats him like she would anyone, despite him being King. The attraction between the two is palpable. How Greta denies it is simply beyond me. I spent a lot of the book willing her to recognize what was standing right in front of her!

Now to mention some other characters. First I want to mention Siona; Isaac’s cousin. She isn’t in the book much, but she is memorable. I really like her character and I think she has a lot of potential. She seems very fun and feisty. She is also a voice of reason and very good at making Isaac and Greta see sense. We also have Jacob, who I love. He is just adorable. Then we have Wyatt. I do not really know what to make of him. I like him, I really do, but I think he could be troublesome for Isaac and Greta’s relationship. Also, there is just something about him that I find slightly annoying. I really cannot put my finger on what it is exactly though. I feel like Wyatt represents everything Greta was forced to leave behind when she came to Mylena, whereas Isaac represents everything she has the potential to be in this new world.

The plot in this book is simply captivating. The first chapter opens to action and it does not let up until you finish the book. It is not the kind of book where it is easy to guess the outcome. I wasted a lot of brain cells trying to figure out exactly what was going to happen and trying to figure out who could and couldn’t be trusted. You know there is a villain out to get Greta, but you don’t really know why and that just adds to the mystery and intrigue of the story. Then the ending holds one huge twist that almost killed me. I had a moment where I refused to accept the events and I was demanding new ones. Do not fear, the ending is great. I personally loved it and I love that it was left just open enough for some continuation to the story. There is a definite arc to the plot and the ending is not a cliffhanger, however there is stuff that could be expanded on and there are definitely some threats still out there that need dealing with.

All in all, I simply loved this book. As I said before, this book took me by surprise and quickly became a new favorite. I am invested in the characters and I really hope that there will be more to this story. The fantasy world Chloe Jacobs created is stunning and something any fantasy fan will enjoy. Fans of Shadow and Bone and Throne of Glass, this one is definitely for you.

Excerpt:

Something in his expression altered as he continued to stare at her with that unwavering intensity. He was just waiting for her to slip up and reveal too much, wasn't he?

"Nothing. I don't want anything at all. Especially not from you." She abruptly made a beeline for her clothes, gritting her teeth against the physical discomfort.


"I don't believe you.," he pushed, coming up behind her before she could reach for her shirt. "Everybody wants something and you're no exception. I can see it in your eyes." She didn't know if that was true or not, but if she didn't turn around, he couldn't confirm anything, could he? "Yeah? And you're going to give me what I want, is that it?"


"It's what I do now." She felt him standing behind her, the hitch in his breathing as he hesitated. Finally, his hands fell on her bare shoulders.


She tensed, little electrical tingles tripping down her arms to her fingertips, which curled tighter into the sheet she held wrapped around her.


With a hint of pressure, he urged her to turn back around.


"But you have to ask me."


"When hell freezes over." The familiar ache of loss stung. It was a damn lie anyway. He couldn't give her what she truly wanted, nobody could. And she hated that he brought to the surface all the emotions she had worked so hard to keep hidden.


Need to get out. She tried to shrug out of his grasp and snarled when he didn't budge. "Right now, what I want most involves  a certain goblin king's dismemberment and eternal suffering. Shall I demand that you honor my wish?"


He didn't respond to her angry sarcasm except to lift an imperious brow.


"And if I did ask for something, the only cost would be my soul, is that it?"


"It wouldn't have to be like that, not in the way you think. We would be bound together." He paused, his gaze straying to his hands still on her shoulders. "Would it be so horrible to belong to me, Greta? To give yourself into my keeping and trust me to take control of your happiness?" 

"What the hell does that even mean? Do you get to dance through all of their heads as well? Doesn't that make for a busy night?"


He frowned. "The ability to penetrate dreams has always been a curse, but the obligation to grant my people's wishes came with the mantle of king."


"I'm not one of your people," she said. Is that how he saw her? She should have known better to believe she might be special to him. "How many others are 'bound' to your keeping?"


"Those who wish to barter with me for their deepest desires do so of their own free will, with full knowledge of the payment required." The dark slash of his brows came together in a stormy frown and he stepped back, dropping his hands to his sides.

Giveaway Time:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About The Author:


Chloe Jacobs is a native of nowhere and everywhere, having jumped around to practically every Province of Canada before finally settling in Ontario where she has now been living for a respectable number of years. Her husband and son are the two best people in the entire world, but they also make her wish she'd at least gotten a female cat. No such luck. And although the day job keeps her busy, she carves out as much time as possible to write. Bringing new characters to life and finding out what makes them tick and how badly she can make them suffer is one of her greatest pleasures, almost better than chocolate and fuzzy pink bunny slippers.

12 comments:

  1. I really enjoyed the excerpt and am looking forward to more. Thank you for sharing with us :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just the cover kinda makes you fall in love it with, but the summary sounds amazing too! A must read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wonderful review and excerpt. Thanks for participating.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Fantastic review!! I really wanted to read this but now I'm even more excited to get my hands on this book.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book sounds super good! Great giveaway! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Must. read. this. book!! It just sounds so good! *couchIsaaccough* ha ha The characters sounds interesting and the story sounds captivating! Plus your review really drew me in and captured my attention. So, I'll have to get my hands on this one girl!! Wonderful review as always!
    And I really enjoyed that excerpt!

    Magen Corrie
    ~Corrie the book, crazed girl

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will love this book! It is so so awesome! Like I cant even!

      Delete
  7. I need this book soooo badly...it's driving me insane!!!! I read your review and I literally started jumping up and down then....I read the excerpt....and I think I died! *going crazy* I love the sound of this one.....and the main character is a bounty hunter which makes it even more exciting! Plus, the romance in this sounds mind blowing....A Goblin king...who sounds SCRUMPTIOUS....by the way! LOL ;p I just can't wait! I'm so glad you enjoyed this....and jealous you got to read it before me! *wink* Fantabulous review, Teresa! :D

    ~ Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Isaac is scrumptious! Like you are right to be excited for this book! It is awesomesauce!

      Delete
  8. Great review!! I am on the tour for this book also and will be starting the book in the next couple of days. I can't wait!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wonderful review! Thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...