Monday, August 20, 2012

Book Review: Throne of Glass by: Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: August 7, 2012 from Bloomsbury
Add To Goodreads

"After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.
Her opponents are men—thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the kings council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.
Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined."


My Thoughts:

The moment I read the summary for this book, I just knew it was something I was going to fall in love with. I counted down the days and with each passing day I became more and more excited. I was right to get excited for this book, because I ended up enjoying it immensely. This book is perfect for fantasy fans and it will successfully distract you for hours on end. The story line is engaging and will keep you guessing and all of the characters are wonderful in their own way.

Celaena in one word is kickass. She definitely ranks up there with some of my all time favorite heroines. Everyone who has said “move over Katniss” was 100% correct. Celaena is incredibly strong and determined and she does not break easily. She fights through terrible circumstances and overcomes a difficult childhood only to become a feared and notorious assassin. She survives a year in a place where most people only last a month and when she is offered a chance at freedom she does everything she can to make sure it happens. She is an admirable character, despite some of the questionable actions in her past.

Normally I am not a huge fan of love triangles, but this book was the exception. I had such a hard time choosing between Dorian and Chaol. Both characters were intriguing and lovable, but each in their own distinct way. Chaol is the Captain of the Guards and he is a very closed off and serious person. However, there is also something sweet and protective about him. On the other hand, we have Dorian who is the Crown Prince. He is cocky and slightly arrogant and enjoys teasing Celaena, but he is also extremely funny and can be incredibly sweet. Normally I easily pick which guy I like more, but I could not do that in this situation. I really like both characters and because they are so different it is hard for me to decide. For the majority of the book I was leaning towards Dorian, but then Chaol would do something to tug at the heartstrings. So here I am, at the end of the book, and I am more confused than ever. However, this is probably why I enjoyed this love triangle, because I genuinely liked both characters. Love triangles bother me when I HATE one of the characters involved.

Throne of Glass introduces the reader to a beautifully crafted new world. A world full of secrets and monsters just lurking out of sight. The writing seems effortless and while reading it is easy to forget the world around you. The story is fast paced, but not so much that you miss things. It will also keep you guessing. It is hard to guess the motives for all of the characters, and those that initially seem unimportant turn out to be major players.

Overall, Throne of Glass is a book that you need to check out soon. Fans of George R.R. Martin, Shadow and Bone, and Graceling will especially enjoy this book. I simply cannot wait for the next book, because there is still so much that I need to know. So do yourself a favor and go get this book right now.


11 comments:

  1. All these reviews are killing me!! I'm still waiting for my book from TBD. Where are you??

    I'm so happy to hear that you love it! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm in NYC, but I actually had an ARC of it so I had the book before it released.

      Delete
    2. I actually asked my book, where is it! ;) But In NYC wow...you enjoying?? :) Lucky you! :)

      Delete
    3. haha and this is why I should not answer comments when tired because my brain ceases to function.

      Delete
  2. I cannot wait to read this book!! I have it on my TBR pile, if only I could get to it.. Other books keep getting in the way :) Not that I'm complaining ha ha

    Anyways, I loved your review, as always, and you make me want to stop what I'm reading right now and get to this book!! I can't wait to enter into the world of Throne of Glass!!

    Magen Corrie
    ~Corrie the book, crazed girl

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are going to fall in love with both Dorian and Choal!

      Delete
  3. I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS!!! I heard there is not just 1 hot guy BUT 2!!!! GAHHHH........ I want it now!!!! Awesome review! So, lucky you got to read this!! *pout* The day I get my hands on this....will be pure bliss! LOL ;p

    ~ Maida @ Literary Love Affair 

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love your review! And what you said was true! Even I can't decide whether to choose Dorian or Chaol! I just got my copy from Netgalley but I want to get my hands on the actual book. Can't wait! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm sometimes on the fence about love triangles and this one sounds amazing. Great review, this is on my must read asap list!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm usually wary of love triangles as well, but this one was great.

      Delete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...