Friday, August 31, 2012

Book Review: Something Strange and Deadly by: Susan Dennard

Release Date: July 24, 2012 from HarperTeen
Add To Goodreads



"The year is 1876, and there’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance."


My Thoughts:


I did not think it was possible for me to become obsessed with any more books, but this book has proven me wrong. I loved every single word written in this book. From the characters to the setting to the plot, I just could not get enough of it.

Eleanor is a great heroine. She is incredibly strong while still embodying the proper characteristics for a lady in the Victorian era. I truly enjoyed reading from her perspective. She is smart, courageous, and not afraid to stand up for what she thinks is right. She has all of the characteristics that make up a great heroine. She is not some lady that can be easily pushed aside and I love that about her.

Then we have Daniel. Please give me a moment while I add him to my incredibly long list of book boyfriends. Daniel is simply a great character. He is not your typical love interest and because of that I love him more. Daniel is an incredibly smart and talented inventor; however he also has a dark past. He is a complex character and he is very tough to gauge, but I just know that there is an incredibly sweet guy in there somewhere. He is smart, funny, witty, and sarcastic; so naturally I adore him.

Okay so the book has a great heroine and a swoon worthy hero, but that is not all! It also has a wonderful story line. The story will keep you guessing as to what is going on and who is behind it all. While I did have my suspicions, I was still surprised by the events that transpired. I also absolutely loved the setting; Philadelphia during the late 1800s is the perfect setting for zombies to show up. It was also a great setting for social class struggles. Eleanor and her family are from a notable family, but they have run out of money. The book delves into all of the family alliances and “friendships” of the elite during this time. Eleanor learns that the people she has grown up with may not really be her friends and she finds her friends in the most unlikely of places. I also simply enjoy all the pretty dresses and corsets.

Now here is where I thank the day I decided to join the blogging community, because without you guys I probably would have never picked up this book. I have never read a book about zombies before because they never really appealed to me, but after reading so many good reviews I decided that this book was worth a shot. Well now I am in love with the book. It was fast paced and gripping and not what I expected a zombie book to be like. I am now of the opinion that zombies are awesome as are parasols and corsets.

All in all, Something Strange and Deadly is a fabulous read and one that you should check out soon. The story will intrigue you, the characters will grab you, and the zombies will frighten you. This book is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices.


11 comments:

  1. i loved this book and i agree 100 % w/ Eleanor, Daniel and the worldbuilding

    gr8 review

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay! I'm glad you enjoyed it, Teresa! I really liked it too, even though it was a little predictable for me. I agree that the characters were amazing. Daniel and Eleanor were an entertaining pair and I can't wait to read the next book. Brilliant review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh, this book looks awesome! I'm fans of zombie books that don't really fit in the traditional zombie genre, so I'm going to have to check this one out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm glad you found another book to love. What a great feeling! I just couldn't get into SS&D, but maybe it's b/c I just wasn't in the mood for that type of story. I may give it another try at some point. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wonderful review, Teresa! This --> "Please give me a moment while I add him to my incredibly long list of book boyfriends" made me LOL! I think we should compare our lists some time! I love the cover of this one, and, while I have had my eye on it, I just wasn't convinced this was a book for me. I don't normally enjoy reading this era, but I ADORE The Infernal Devices series (and zombies)... so, with your review, and especially that last line of your review... consider me convinced. Thank you so much for the great review! Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would love to compare lists! The cover is what initially caught my eye, its just so pretty.

      I am not big on this era either, but I gave it a shot and I really think TID fans will enjoy this one!

      Thanks for the lovely comment!

      Delete
  6. WOOT WOOT!! I'm glad you enjoyed this! I've been meaning to read this cause it sounds so interesting. I'll definitely bump this up on my TBR list after your review! :D And YAY for Daniel....I think I like him already! LOL ;p Awesome review Teresa!

    ~ Maida @ Literary Love Affair 

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hehe Daniel is quite adorable! I hope you enjoy it!

      Delete
  7. Fantastic review! I'm so glad to find someone who loves this book just as much as I do. Everything about it is perfect & the sequel can't come out fast enough!

    Check out my review of Something Strange and Deadly here if you want. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, I am already counting down the days for the next book!

      Delete
  8. This sounds interesting. I've never read a book with zombies in it, but I think I'll give this one a try.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...