Monday, July 30, 2012

Book Review: Pushing The Limits by: Katie McGarry

Release Date: July 31, 2012 
from Harlequin Teen


"So wrong for each other...and yet so right.
No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again."


My Thoughts:
If you have read other reviews for Pushing The Limits, you will see that most of them say that it is a wonderful book with great characters. Well this review is not going to tell you any different. I had been dying to get my hands on this book for what feels like an incredibly long time and it did not disappoint. I read Pushing The Limits in one sitting and I do not regret the day I lost in doing so.

The characters Katie McGarry created are ones that will easily work their way into your heart. You will genuinely care about what happens to Echo and Noah. I became invested in their story from page one. Echo has had a rough two years; she cannot remember a traumatic event and has become the school’s freak. Not only that, but her home life isn’t all that great either. Watching Echo grow throughout the course of the novel was really something. I loved watching her get stronger as the pages slipped by. A lot of this strength came from Noah, but that strength also came from within herself. Speaking of Noah, he is swoon-worthy. How anyone could not fall in love with him is beyond me. Noah is another one with a difficult past and to deal with it he has made some questionable choices. However, Echo makes him want to be a better person. They were exactly what each other needed, even though neither one of them knew it. 

Noah and Echo bring out the best in each other. They are the epitome of an edgy romance that breaks all of the rules. I truly enjoyed watching these two seemingly very different people fall head over heels in love with each other. While they appear to be polar opposites, they actually have a lot more in common than meets the eye. Both have experienced loss and trauma and therefore they relate to each other in ways others cannot. Not only do they understand each other, but they are simply an adorable couple. 

Noah and Echo are not the only wonderful characters, but the secondary characters are great as well. My personal favorite was Mrs. Collins, Noah and Echo’s school councilor. She knew exactly how to deal with both Noah and Echo. She knew when to push Echo and had no problem telling Noah to cut the crap. She went above and beyond for both students and played a major part in both of their growth. Then we have Lila, Isaiah, and Beth. Each and every one of them contributes to the story in their own way and they help give the story its backbone. Let me just say that I am very excited for Beth’s story. 

Not only are the characters great, but the writing is great as well. I personally enjoyed switching perspectives between Echo and Noah. I have always been a big fan of varying perspectives, and this was no exception. I like not having to guess at what the characters are thinking, but knowing where both main characters are coming from. Although, it does get frustrating at points to know that both are thinking the same thing, but have not told each other yet. 

While my favorite part of the book may have been the romance, that does not mean other aspects of the book were lacking. There were some very dark undertones and very serious circumstances. This is not your fluffy and light romance. Echo and Noah both have had it rough and seriously lack normal. However, together they try to create their own version of normal. 

All in all, Katie McGarry’s debut novel is something you do not want to miss. Fans of Perfect Chemistry and Easy are sure to love this novel. I would recommend this book to everyone I know.

13 comments:

  1. Amazing hu???? This book was truly and fanfreaking awesome!!! And yes, there is nothing fluffy about this story, but I liked the more edgy approach and there is nothing better when a book can make you feel so much!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly! The book is an emotional rollercoaster, but I loved every minute of it. I love my fluffy romances, but sometimes the edgy ones are just better. I love a character with flaws, more realistic!

      Delete
  2. I love a book full of raw emotions. I wish everyone who needed a counselor could have a Mrs. Collins. I also love the 2 persons POV, then I know what the other is thinking too. I am excited to read this book! Thanks for your review, I haven't read one bad review yet!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did!

      Delete
  3. I want this book!
    I am dying to read it! :)
    Amazing review!
    Makes me want it all the more and I always enjoy a book that switches perspectives between characters!
    It gives you a different view in the book and of the characters!
    I always enjoy reading a book where the romance is not always fluffy and light, but real and raw!

    I'm excited to get my hands on this one!

    Magen Corrie

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It comes out tomorrow so get ready to fall head over heels in love with this book! I hope you love it!

      Delete
  4. Like you, I adored this book! I recommend it to pretty much everyone, but it is definitely meant for contemporary readers that enjoyed Easy by Tammara Webber. I can't wait for the companion novel by Katie McGarry to be released!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I can't wait to get inside Beth's head. I am becoming more and more addicted to contemporary edgy romances lately and this was perfect for that!

      Delete
  5. So glad to hear you loved this as much as I did! You are so right that fans of Perfect Chemistry and Easy should love this one. Noah and Echo were such a perfect swoony romance. I loved how they helped each other heal their past wounds. Wonderful review.:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I think my new addiction is romances like this one!

      Delete
  6. I'm so happy that you love it. I have the book but still haven't read it. I'll have to read it asap :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Pushing the Limits was so good :) Glad you liked it, too.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm waiting for my order to arrive! Now I've read your review on it, I'm really super pumped to devour the book. Thanks for sharing

    -wni

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and appreciate every single one of them! It always brightens my day =]

This is an award free blog. I truly appreciate the thought but I simply do not have the time. Comments are an award all on their own =]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...