Friday, May 27, 2016

On My Shelf: The Kiss Of Deception by: Mary E. Pearson

On My Shelf is a feature I started here on the blog and I'm sure there are a ton of similar ones out there, but basically I just wanted to start spotlighting some of the MANY backlist titles I have accumulated on my shelf and kindle. The idea is to spotlight an older book I have on my massive TBR. I also thought it would be a fun way to discuss these books with my fellow bloggers, get some of your thoughts and figure out which ones I need to read ASAP and which ones can wait a bit more. And if you want to join in too, I would love to see what is on your shelf! Just leave me a link in the comments.


I have heard nothing but good things about this one and it really does sound like a "me" book. I remember really looking forward to this one too, but then I forgot to read it. I am also in love with the covers for this series, so that makes me more excited.

So tell me. Have you read it? Did you love it? Hate it? Was it meh?

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Book Review: Outlander (Outlander #1) by: Diana Gabaldon

Release Date: July 26, 2005 (this edition)
from Dell Publishing
Goodreads | Amazon

"The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with
her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord...1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives."

My Thoughts:

At this point there isn’t much I can say about Outlander that hasn’t already been said. It truly is a fantastic read. It took me a while to listen to and at times it felt like I would never finish it, but it was so so so so good. I loved Jamie and Claire so much.

Claire is an amazing character. She is so strong and fierce and smart. I absolutely loved her. And of course I adored Jamie too. I mean how could I not? And the best part is that they were even better together. They are such a strong couple and they work well together. Jamie can be overbearing and stubborn and Claire just gives it right back. THEY ARE SO GREAT TOGETHER AND I JUST LOVE THEM SO MUCH.

This book had everything I love in a book. A fantastic romance, a fantasy twist, guys in kilts, danger, action, drama, swoons, kissing, seriously everything I want. It also had its darker aspects and those aspects truly hurt my heart. It is a rich and vivid world but it is realistic to the time and those aspects make it dangerous.

Outlander is a great read and I’m sure you didn’t need me to tell you that, most people would say the same. I have found my newest obsession and I regret nothing.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Waiting On Wednesday #192: Into The Fire by: Jeaniene Frost

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine
It spotlilghts upcoming releases that we are dying to read.


Add To Goodreads
"In the explosive finale to New York Times bestselling author Jeaniene Frost’s Night Prince series, Vlad is in danger of losing his bride to an enemy whose powers might prove greater than the Prince of Vampire’s…. 

In the wrong hands, love can be a deadly weapon.

For nearly six hundred years, Vlad Tepesh cared for nothing, so he had nothing to lose. His brutal reputation ensured that all but the most foolhardy stayed away. Now falling in love with Leila has put him at the mercy of his passions. And one adversary has found a devastating way to use Vlad’s new bride against him.

A powerful spell links Leila to the necromancer Mircea. If he suffers or dies, so does she. Magic is forbidden to vampires, so Vlad and Leila enlist an unlikely guide as they search for a way to break the spell. But an ancient enemy lies in wait, capable of turning Vlad and Leila’s closest friends against them…and finally tearing the lovers apart forever." 


I am obsessed with all things Night Huntress, so of course I am excited for this one. I love Vlad and Leila and I am dying to see how their story wraps up.

Into The Fire will be released on October 25, 2016.
What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Release Day: Dangerous Heart by: Fiona Paul

Happy release day to Dangerous Heart by Fiona Paul! I read this book when it first released as Starling and I absolutely adored it (check out my review here). I truly think this series deserves all the love! 


"Cassandra Caravello and Luca are fugitives, on the run from the law and the deadly Order of the
Eternal Rose. As they pursue the only evidence that could save them, their worlds—and their romance— are torn apart by spiteful friends and murderous enemies.
When Cass finds herself ensnared in the Order’s twisted plot, Falco emerges once again as her only hope for freedom…but this time, Luca has a shocking scheme of his own.
From ancient mercenaries to sly magicians, clever courtesans and vengeful killers, no one can be trusted. In the breathtaking conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy, Cass must confront the Order and decide where her heart lies, once and for all.
Formerly published as Starling, this romantic mystery is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory’s The Other Boleyn Girl and Jennifer Donnelly’s These Shallow Graves."





Find out more about the rest of the series:

About The Author:
Fiona Paul lives in St. Louis, MO where she managed to persuade fancy universities to award her degrees in psychology and nursing. Between her studies, she traveled around five continents and spent time living in Thailand and South Korea (which is probably why she finds the idea of wearing shoes in the house a little weird).

In addition to writing, Fiona is somewhat obsessive about coffee, music, and adventure sports. Her future goals include swimming with great white sharks and writing a whole slew of novels, not necessarily in that order. For updates about Secrets of the Eternal Rose series, follow Fiona on Twitter @fionawritesYA.


Monday, May 23, 2016

The Monday Musts 5/23/2016

The Monday Musts is a weekly feature hosted by the awesome Jessica at Lovin Los Libros. This is a fun way to share a must read book, a must listen to song/album/artist, and a must see (can be anything). I'm really excited to be taking part in this feature and I'm sure it will be a ton of fun.

Must Read:
So much action and steam and noms! This was a fun read. Elle Kennedy does not disappoint.

Must Listen:
I lurveeee this song!

Must See:
I love Kate Beckinsale and this had me cracking up!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...